How guest browsing works


Browse as a guest: Share your Chrome device with friends and family. The guest browsing feature lets people browse the web on your Chrome device, even if they don't have a Google Account. You can safely lend your Chrome device to your friends without giving them access to your personal information in your account.

How guest browsing works

You can start a guest browsing session from the main sign-in screen by clicking Browse as Guest from the launcher. If you don't see this option, that means guest browsing is not enabled on your Chrome device.

When you are browsing as a guest, you can surf the web and download files as normal. Once you're done browsing, click the status area and select Exit guest. All the browsing information from the session will be deleted from the device, but websites you visited may still have records of your visit. You can also use the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+Shift+Q to end your session.
Tip:  Guest browsing can be useful for times when you need to quickly browse the web in private. For example, if you share the device with other people, use the guest browsing feature to secretly shop for birthday presents. Your browsing data is cleared from the device once you exit the browsing session.

Enable or disable guest browsing

Guest browsing is enabled by default. If you are the owner of the device, you can turn this feature on or off:
  1. Sign in to the Chrome device with the account that has been designated as the owner.
  2. Click the status area in the lower-right corner, where your account picture appears.
  3. Select Settings and find the "Users" section.
  4. Click Manage other users.
  5. Use the "Enable guest browsing" checkbox to control the feature.
Using a Chrome device at work or school? Your network administrator might disable guest browsing for your Chrome device, in which case you won't be able to use this feature

0 comments:

Post a Comment